Party at the World’s End – James Curcio (9/10)

Orchid's Lantern

This was a real case of ‘don’t judge a book by its cover’ for me. From the style of the artwork and the title, I would never have expected this to be something I’d want to read, but I was already familiar with the author having enjoyed his zany debut novel ‘Join My Cult’ some years ago.

Party at the World’s End is a lot of fun. It is beautifully chaotic, with events told out of order from the points of view of several different characters; sometimes in third person and sometimes first. Sometimes in recollections, in philosophical musings, in diary entries, and sometimes in dreams or hallucinations. Now I’m sure that sounds hard to follow, but it actually works so well with the subject matter and at no point did I find myself confused. After attempting to read Ulysses this was a breeze.

The theme is sex, drugs, rock…

View original post 769 more words

Leave a Reply

